New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday honoured 56 personalities with five Padma Vibhushan, eight Padma Bhushan and forty-three Padma Shri awards at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. The President awarded the Padma Vishushan on Dhirubhai Hirachand Ambani (Posthumous), Avinash Kamalakar Dixit, Jagmohan, Yamini Krishnamuthi and Sri Sri Ravi Shankar during the ceremony.
The awardees who received Padma Bhushan from the President are Hafeez Sorabe Contractor, Barjinder Singh Hamdard, Anupam Pushkarnath Kher, Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry, Saina Nehwal, Vinod Rai, Alla Ventaka Rama Rao and Duvvur Nageshwar Reddy.
The forty-three Padma Shri awardees who received the honour include Mylswamy Annadurai, Madhur R Bhandarkar, Ajay Devgn, Deepika Kumari and Mohammed Imtiaz Qureshi.
The government has already announced Padma awards for 112 well-known persons on the occasion of the Republic Day this year. Whereas the remaining awardees of Padma Awards that include the superstar Rajinikanth, tennis star Sania Mirza and actor Priyanka Chopra will be given the honor of the awards at another function that is going to be held in the next month.
Many well-known well-known and renowned persons from various fields of the country have been awarded the Padma Awards. 

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App