Chandigarh: Noted economist Mukul G Asher will head the fifth State Finance Commission set up by the Haryana government.

Asher, who was a professorial Fellow of Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, Singapore, since 2012, will head the nine-member commission which will make recommendations related to governing the distribution between the state and Zila Parishads, Panchayat Samitis and Gram Panchayats of net proceeds of taxes, duties, tools and fee leviable by the state, a Haryana government spokesman said here on Sunday.

(Also Read: Parliament passes Scheduled Castes Amendment Bill 2016)

Other members of the commission are former Haryana chief secretary Vishnu Bhagwan, Rohini Aggarwal, Aniruddha Rajput, Sham Lal Bansal, Rajinder Mohan Walia, Anurag Bakshi, Neeta Khera and Haryana cadre IAS officer Amneet P Kumar.

The Commission also recommend grant-in-aid to the Zila Parishads, Panchayat Samitis and Gram Panchayats from the consolidated fund of the state, the spokesman added.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App