Imphal: Khetrimayum Bhabananda on Wednesday took charge as the new Manipur president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and pledged to oust the Congress in elections next year.
Bhabananda succeeds Thounaojam Chaoba. 
“The immediate objective is to win an absolute majority in the Imphal Municipal Corporation on June 2,” he told the media. “The BJP is planning to wrest power from the Congress in assembly elections next year.” 
The Congress won 42 of the 60 seats in the last assembly election. Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh has completed three consecutive terms. 

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App