New Delhi: Social networking site Twitter on Saturday saw several political leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi and CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechuri pay tribute to Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore on his 155th birth anniversary.

“I bow to Gurudev Tagore on his birth anniversary. He was a versatile personality whose profound thoughts and writings continue to inspire,” Modi tweeted.

“A man of letters, a thinker and a philosopher his immense contribution to our cultural & political life will always be remembered,” Rahul Gandhi posted.

“Remembering today Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore on his birth anniversary,” he further tweeted.

(Also Read: PM Modi pays homage to Tagore on 155th birth anniversary)

“We pay tribute to Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore on his birth anniversary,” the Congress party posted.

“Rabindranath Tagore, one of India’s finest minds, was born this day in 1861. His words resonate even stronger today,” Yechury tweeted with a photo of Tagore’s poem “Where the mind is without fear”.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley tweeted: “On 155th birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore, the celebrated author of Gitanjali, let us remember & pay him our respectful tribute.”

Communications and Information Technology Minister, Ravi Shankar Prasad with a picture of tagore tweeted: “My tribute to the author of the Indian National Anthem Shri Rabindranath Tagore Ji on his birth anniversary.” His junior minister Rajyavardhan Rathore also posted his tribute on twitter.

Among others who tweeted were, Union Minister for Urban Development and Parliamentary Affairs M Venkaiah Naidu and Minister of State(Independent Charge) Petroleum & Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Gujarat Chief Minister Anandiben Patel too tweeted their tribute.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App