New Delhi: A total of 344 candidates have filed their nominations for the assembly elections in Puducherry, slated for May 16.
Of these, 21 are female and one transgender, the Election Commission (EC) informed on Wednesday.
The election is being contested for 30 seats in Puducherry — a union territory with over nine lakh voters. The election would be conducted at 930 polling stations, the EC informed.
While the Bharatiya Janata Party, AIADMK and All-India NR Congress are contesting all 30 seats, the rest of the parties have fielded their candidates in select constituencies only. 
There are 96 independents in the fray.
The maximum number of candidates have filed their nominations from Ozhukarai (17 candidates) — the largest constituency both electorate-wise and area-wise. The least number of nominations came from Karaikal (North) constituency with just eight candidates.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App