1. In the final round of Assembly Polls, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry vote to pick new governments today.

  2. In Tamil Nadu, the main contenders for the Chief Minister’s seat are – AIADMK’s Jayalalithaa who is looking at a consecutive second term in office, DMK’s 93-year old M Karunanidhi, actor-turned-politician Vijayakanth of DMDK-PWF-TMC combine and PMK’s Anbumani Ramadoss.

  3. DMK president M Karunanidhi, after casting his vote early, said he was confident of DMK’s victory in the polls.

  4. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was recently in on everyone’s critical radar for his alleged Kerala-Somalia comparison, urged voters in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry to vote in record numbers.

  5. Superstar Rajinikanth, who voted at the Stella Maris College in Chennai, also urged voters to come out and vote.

  6. In Kerala, voting is being held for 140 seats. The ruling Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) and the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) have alternated power between themselves every five years. Oommen Chandy, the incumbent Kerala CM, however, said he is confident of breaking the pattern by securing a second term. 93-year-old former chief minister VS Achuthanandan, is seen as the Left’s Chief Ministerial candidate.

  7. Elections are also being held on the 30 seats in Puducherry, where Chief Minister N Rangaswamy, the leader of All India NR Congress is seeking re-election. In 2011, the newly formed party by the rebel Congressman had won 15 seats.

  8. Unaccounted cash over Rs 100 crores, allegedly for distribution among voters, was seized by the election authorities in Tamil Nadu. The seizures have triggered allegations of cash for votes against the ruling AIADMK. The Election Commission has postponed the voting in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur over reports of money distribution. The two constituencies will undergo polls on May 23.

  9. In Kerala, the BJP has set up an alliance with the newly floated Bharat Dharma Jana Sena, a party floated by an organisation of the backward Ezhava Hindu community, which form 23 per cent of the population.

  10. Counting of votes in all five states – Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Assam and Puducherry – on May 19.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App