Chennai: Superstar Rajinikanth, actor-filmmaker Kamal Haasan and Ajith Kumar cast their votes on Monday in the ongoing Tamil Nadu legislative assembly elections.

While Rajinikanth cast his vote at Stella Maris College, Ajith along with his wife Shalini exercised their franchise at government school on Kuppam Beach Road.

Kamal Haasan, who had earlier said he might miss voting due to the shoot of his upcoming trilingual film “Sabaash Naidu”, stayed back to cast his vote at Corporation School in Teynampet.

(Also Read: Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry vote to choose new government: 10 points)

Haasan was joined by his younger daughter Akshara.

Actor Suriya skipped voting as he could not return from the US, where he had gone with his family for a holiday.

In a statement, Suriya apologised for being not able to present to cast his vote.

Other actors who cast their vote include Jiiva and Vidharth.

Polling in the 232 out of 234 assembly constituencies began in Tamil Nadu on Monday morning.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App