New Delhi: The Samajwadi Party’s enflamed relationship with its former leader, Amar Singh, seems to have reached a softened conclusion after he was nominated for the Rajya Sabha seat on Tuesday. 
The Samajwadi Party announced the names of seven party candidates for the next month’s Rajya Sabha elections on Tuesday. Apart from Amar Singh, the other nominees from the SP include figures like Beni Prasad Verma, Sanjay Seth, Revti Raman Singh, Arvind Singh, Sukhram Yadav, and Vishambhar Prasad Nishad. 
In June, biennial elections will take place for 11 Rajya Sabha seats and 13 legislative council seats for the state of Uttar Pradesh. 
The Samajwadi Party on February 2010, spearheaded by Mulayam Singh, had announced the expulsion of Amar Singh and actress Jaya Prada after they were accused of ‘anti-party’ activities. Amar Singh was prosecuted for bribing officials and was briefly involved in a scandal which pertained to donations to the Clinton Foundation. 
The meeting on Tuesday included SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, senior ministers Shivpal Yadav and Mohammad Azam Khan, SP national general secretary Ram Gopal Yadav and Kiranmoy Nanda. 

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App