Chennai: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) chief Jayalalithaa will be sworn in as the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister on Monday, May 23.

Beating all odds and proving all exit polls wrong, Jayalalithaa rewrote history in the Assembly Elections 2016 by breaking a three-decade long cycle of anti-incumbency and retaining power despite efforts of bitter rivals DMK.

Jayalalithaa, or Amma, as she is fondly referred to, won 134 seats in the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. The three-time Chief Minister will be the first person after Marudhur Gopalan Ramachandran to be elected to two continuous terms.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App