Kolkata: The state BJP on Thursday said it would boycott the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s swearing-in ceremony in Kolkata on Friday. However, Arun Jaitley and some other Union Ministers would be attending the programme.
The BJP members said that they will protest against the post-poll violence in Kolkata.
“We are boycotting tomorrow’s swearing-in ceremony. When our workers are being attacked throughout the state, how we can join the swearing-in ceremony?” state BJP president Dilip Ghosh said. 
BJP sources, however, confirmed that Arun Jaitley will be attending the programme.
Chief Mamata Banerjee will be sworn-in as Chief Minister of West Bengal for a second term today.
Kolkata Mayor Shovan Chatterjee, former Indian cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla and singer Indranil Sen are among the 17 new faces in the 42-member ministry.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App