New Delhi: The Congress party on Saturday named V Narayanaswamy as the new Chief Minister of Puducherry. Narayanasamy had earlier served as a Union Minister of State during his tenure as Rajya Sabha MP.
The decision to name Narayanasamy as the chief minister came after the party held a legislature meeting, comprising senior party leaders including the former Chief Ministers of Delhi and Puducherry Sheila Dikshit and V Vaithilingam respectively. The party General Secretary Mukul Wasnik was also present at the meeting.
Earlier during the day, the state party leaders were in Delhi to consult with the party high command on the choice of Chief Minister.
The Opposition, however, have been alleging that the infighting within the Congress party has delayed formation of the government.
Meanwhile, former Chief Minister V. Vaithilingam denied any rift in the party on the issue of Chief Minister. He justified the delay saying that Congress being a national party, it has to consult central leadership before reaching at a decision. 

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App