New Delhi: Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) member P Sreeramakrishnan was elected as the Speaker of the Kerala Assembly on Friday. The CPI-M member secured a total of 92 votes. 
Sreeramakrishnan’s rival for the position of Speaker for the Kerala Assembly was the United Democratic Front’s (UDF) Congress rival VP Sajeendran. Sajeendran only managed to secure 46 to Sreeramakrishnan’s 92. 
O Rajagopal, the only Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) member among the voters, said that he voted for the CPI-M member because of Ramesh Chennithala’s statement that UDF did not need the vote of the BJP member in the house.  

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App