New Delhi: West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) founder Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday welcomed the six rebel Congress MLAs who invoked munity against Congress and joined TMC.

The rebel MLAs joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Tuesday and submitted a signed paper to Tripura Assembly Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath mentioning their resignations from the Congress.

However, only four of the Congress MLAs namely Sudip Roy Barman, Asish Kumar Saha, Biswa Bandhu Sen and Diba Chandra Hwrhankal were present during submission of the dissection letter to the Speaker.

Two other MLAs Pranjit Sigha Roy and Dilip Sarkar were not present and not even seen in the closed door meeting with TMC vice-president Mukul Roy.

The Congress MLAs were upset over the alliance between Congress and Left.

After Uttarakhand, Meghalaya and Chhattisgarh, Tripura is the fourth state to start rebellion against Congress.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App