Anantnag: Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir Mehbooba Mufti on Saturday won the Anantnag by-election by over 12,000 votes.
Mehbooba Mufti of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is one of the eight contestants. Among the others are Shah of the Congress and Iftikhar Hussain Misgar of the National Conference. 
The constituency has over 84,000 eligible voters. Nearly 28,500 voted on Wednesday despite a poll boycott called by separatist politicians and militants.
The by-election was necessitated because of the death of the then Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed who represented the constituency in the assembly, which has an effective strength of 87.
Mehbooba Mufti assumed power after being sworn in as the Chief Minister of the PDP-BJP coalition government on April 4.
It is mandatory for a Chief Minister or any other minister in the state to become a member of either house of state’s bicameral legislature within six months of being sworn in.
At present, Mehbooba Mufti represents the south Kashmir Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency in parliament.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App