New Delhi: Following to the prior reports surrounding the new face of Congress Legislator Party (CLP), Nabam Tuki, today resigned as Arunachal Pradesh CLP leader and Pema Khandu has been elected as the new Congress Legislature Party leader

As per prior reports, suggesting that there will be no floor test taking place today. Rebel law-makers as many as 21 have agreed to return to the Congress party with the condition that the leadership face in the state is changed. Wangki Lowang one of the MLAs said that change in leadership is possible.

Previously, the Arunachal Pradesh acting Governor Tathagata Roy had asked Chief Minister Nabam Tuki to prove his majority on the floor of the House on 16 July.

The Supreme Court had directed the restoration of ousted Chief Minister Nabam Tuki in Arunachal Pradesh and quashed Governor J.P. Rajkhowa’s decision to advance the assembly session by a month.

The Congress, which had 47 MLA seats in the 60-member assembly, suffered a jolt when 21 of its lawmakers rebelled. Eleven BJP MLAs backed the rebels in the bid to upstage the government. Later, 14 rebel Congress MLAs were disqualified.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App