Lucknow: Four legislators of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) who were expelled for anti-party activities joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday. All the legislators are sitting MLAs.

Welcoming the new members into the party at the state headquarters here, state President of the BJP, Keshav Prasad Maurya, said he was happy that the BSP legislators had decided to join the party and strengthen the hands of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and embrace his politics of development and “Sabka saath, sabka vikaas”.

(Also Read: Mayawati doing politics in name of Dalits: BJP)

The MLAs are Mahaveer Rana (Behat in Saharanpur), Romi Sahni (Palia, Lakhimpur Kheri), Roshan Lal Verma (Tilhar in Shahjahanpur) and Om Kumar from Navhtaur assembly constituency in Bijnor.