New Delhi: The Government of India on Tuesday announced the next set of 27 cities that will be developed under the centre’s Smart City Mission.
As per the Mission’s guidelines, 40 cities were announced to become smart cities during this financial year and the government had already announced 13 cities in the month of May. 27 cities were announced today and the remaining will be picked by 2018. 
The Prime Minister Modi-led government is aiming to transform 100 cities into smart cities by 2019-20, with a financial support of Rs 48,000 crore over five years. 
The new list of smart cities include three cities from Uttar Pradesh of which PM Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi also finds its place along with the cities of Kanpur and Agra. 
Here’s the list of the newly announced smart cities: