The voting for Assembly Elections 2017 in Goa and Punjab is underway. Long queues were witnessed at the polling stations on Saturday morning. Reports even suggested that voters had queued up at the polling stations much before time.

To elect the 40-members of the Goa Legislative Assembly, the main political parties Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Nationalist Congress Party, Shiv Sena and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) will be fighting the elections. Some independent parties are also in the fray.

11.09 lakh voters will elect candidates to the 40-member Assembly. VVPAT-fitted EVMs will also be used for the first time in the entire state of Goa. The polling will end at 5 pm.

Tight security arrangements have been made across Punjab and its borders. There are 22,600 polling stations in the state. Over 1.98 crore electors will decide the fate of 1,145 candidates. Voting for the by-election to the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat is also being held on Saturday.

The fight will be among the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance, Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Here are the Live Updates:

05: 05 pm | Polling in Goa ends. The fate of 40-members of the Goa Legislative Assembly locked in the EVMs.

04: 53 pm | Punjab has recorded an overall voter turnout of 66% till 04:00 PM

04: 35 pm | Polling in Punjab started an hour late due to severe weather. Might extend the polling time by an hour.

04:25 pm | Must read: Faulty EVMs, VVPAT snags delay voting at Punjab polling stations

The Election Commission is using 31,460 EVMs for the 22,614 polling stations in Punjab.

04: 15 pm | Voters upset over disruption caused by faulty EVMs. Voting delayed for periods differ from five minutes to over an hour.

04: 12 pm | Reports of faulty EVMs, and VVPAT machine developing snag delay voting at some Punjab polling stations

04:00 pm| 50% in Punjab, Goa records 67% voting till 3 PM

half of the total of Punjab’s 1.98 crore voters have cast their votes till 3 pm. Punjab is voting for 117 assembly seats in the state.

03:45 pm: 48% voting in Punjab till 2:30 PM, Goa 67% till 3 PM

Goa has 11.08 lakh enrolled voters are entitled to exercise their franchise. Voting in Goa will end at 5 p.m.

2.05 pm: Punjab has recorded an overall voter turnout of 36.05% till 1 PM. There are 22,614 polling stations in Punjab.

2.00 pm: Captain Amarinder Singh casts his vote at booth no. 89 in Patiala

12.40 pm: Very confident of our win, did door to door campaigns, got positive response about my mother and father: Karan Singh, Sidhu’s son 

12.10 pm: BJP’s Hans Raj Hans exercises his right to vote at a polling booth in Jalandhar 

12.15 pm: BJP-Akali Dal will win and Parkash Singh Badal will become the CM for the sixth time: BJP’s Hans Raj Hans 

Congress Candidate Navjot Singh Sidhu along with his wife Navjot Kaur casting their vote at a polling station during Punjab Legislative Assembly in Amritsar, on Feb 4, 2017. (Photo: IANS)


12.10 pm: Is dharm yudh mei satya ki jeet hone wali hai; Hum sure hain ki sarkar Cong ki banegi;Yahan se Cong ke jhande mei danda lagega-Navjot SSidhu

11.50 am: Will give Rahul Gandhi great gift with Congress’ revival, says Navjot Singh Sidhu as he arrives to vote at booth in Amritsar with wife Navjot Kaur

11.42 am: Punjab has recorded an overall voter turnout of 14% till 11.30 am 

11.40 am: South Goa’s polling percentage: 32%, North Goa’s polling percentage 35%. Goa’s overall turnout till 11 am: 34% 

11.35 am: Punjab wants govt that coordinates wth centre not one that hs issues with centre everyday,certainly not one that ruined Delhi-Harsimrat Kaur

11.30 am: Aftr 30-yrs thr ws blast in Punjab,Kejriwal having dinner&breakfast with Babbar Khalsa,clear indication ISI sponsors Kejriwal-Harsimrat Kaur

11.25 am: Pehle 2 parties thee, ab 3 hai, kaafhi votes divert honge, par jo bhi jeete woh Punjab ko apne party se pehle rakhe: Harbhajan Singh

11.16 am: Cricketer Harbhajan Singh along with his mother Avtar Kaur, waiting to cast his vote at polling booth no.23 in Jalandhar 

11.03 am: Amarinder Singh is dal-badlu. I have 70-yrs experience, fought for Punjab & India,this is a small battle, says CM Parkash Singh Badal 

10.55 am: We’ll have a bigger win than last time, Amarinder Singh is only drama & AAP is on 3rd position: Sukhbir Singh Badal 

10.40 am: Punjab records an overall voter turnout of 12% till 10.30 am 

10.30 am: CM Parkash Singh Badal of SAD casts his vote at a polling booth in Lambi 

10.00 am: Punjab has recorded overall polling percentage of 8% till 9:30 am 

09.45 am: AAP’s Gurpreet Ghuggi casts his vote at a polling station in Bathinda, says voting is our right and must be exercised 

09.33 am: The environment is charged and very positive, we are confident of a win: Captain Amarinder Singh’s wife, Preneet Kaur

09.32 am: Punjab mei Cong ki sarkar aa rhi hai; Match jeentenge aur lambe-chaude goal honge; AAP hai thoda bahut, Akali Dal bilkul nahi: Pargat Singh, Congress

Voting for the single-phase polls in Goa and Punjab is underway.

09.20 am: If he doesn’t belong here (Patiala), yes of course he’s a parachute candidate: Captain Amarinder Singh’s niece on Gen JJ Singh 

08.43 am: Sucha Singh Chhotepur casts his vote 

08.41 am: Polling at booth no.66 in Jalandhar delayed due to glitch in the EVM machine 

08.34 am: He loves challenges. In Arunachal also he wanted a challenging area, says Wife of Gen JJ Singh(retd) on him contesting against Cong’s Amarinder Singh

08.30 am: Women cast their vote at booth no.66 in Jalandhar 

08.25 am: Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar casts his vote at a polling booth in North Goa’s Arambol

08.10 am: Gen JJ Singh (Retd) SAD candidate against Congress’s Amarinder Singh from Patiala Urban, arrives to cast his vote

08.00 am: Voting in Punjab begins. 1145 candidates to contest across 117 seats

07.55 am: Voters arrive at booth no.66 in Jalandhar; security deployed, preparations complete for voting to begin at 8 am

07.50 am: Voters wait for polling to begin at 8am. Visuals from polling booth no.123-124 at SD College in Pathankot

07.45 am: Final preparations for elections underway at booth no.118 (govt school) in Lambi

Amritsar: An elderly man arrives to cast his vote at a polling booth during Punjab Legislative Assembly polls at village, about 25 km from Amritsar, on Feb 4, 2017. (Photo: IANS)


07.40 am: Voters arrive at booth no.66 in Jalandhar; security deployed, preparations complete for voting to begin at 8 am

07.33 am: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar casts his vote at a polling station in Goa’s Panaji, says Goa will see heavy voter turnout

07.31 am: Initial reports suggest a good turnout, Goa might cross last years turnout of 84% & BJP will win with 2/3rd majority, says Manohar Parrikar 

07.20 am: We will win with complete and comfortable majority, will continue development work and most importantly job creation: Goa CM 

07.10 am: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar stands in queue at polling booth in Panaji to cast his vote 

07.08 am: In a bid to encourage women voters to come out and exercise their right to vote, ‘pink’ polling stations introduced for Goa polls

07.05 am: Security deployed outside polling station in Goa’s Panaji; voters queue up at polling station to cast their vote

07.03 am: Urging people of Punjab and Goa to turnout in record numbers and vote in Assembly elections. I particularly urge my young friends to vote: PM Modi

07.00 am: Assembly election polling for 40 seats in the state of Goa begins

06.55 am: Voters arrive for polling in Goa’s capital Panaji; voting to start at 7 am