Division of Uttar Pradesh into four smaller states was once a much talked issue by all the political parties but in the 2017 assembly elections this issue seems to have gone down the drain. There was a proposal by the Bhaujan Samaj Party to divide UP in Harit Pradesh (western UP), Poorvanchal (eastern UP), Bundelkhand and Awadh.

The Bahujan Samaj Party or BSP, headed by Mayawati, maintained the stand that smaller states could be governed in a much better and efficient manner.

According to political experts, the major reason behind political parties not taking up the division of Uttar Pradesh this political season is that such an issue now might harm its electoral prospects while giving an edge to BJP, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) and Congress.

Therefore political parties are playing the development agenda in UP elections instead of the dividing the state.

According to experts, another reason could be the fact that people took pride in being residents of one of the country’s biggest states and did not wish to give up that identity.

The high-stakes assembly elections Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases between February 11 and March 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App