Following is the timeline in the case of disproportionate assets in which AIADMK General Secretary VK Sasikala and two of her relatives were on Tuesday convicted.

June 1996: Subramaniam Swamy complains to Tamil Nadu Governor against J Jayalalithaa for amassing assets disproportionate to known sources of income.

June 1996: DMK government registers FIR against Jayalalithaa.

December 1996: Jayalalithaa arrested.

June 1997: Chargesheet filed against Jayalalithaa, Sasikala, Illavarasi and Sudhakaran under Prevention of Corruption Act.

October 1997: Madras High Court dismisses Jayalalithaaa’s petition challenging the permission by Governor to prosecute her.

May 2001: AIADMK wins assembly polls. Jayalalithaa is Chief Minister.

September 2001: Supreme Court unseats Jayalalithaa for her conviction in Tansi land deal case.

February 2002: After her conviction is set aside, Jayalalithha becomes Chief Minister again. Wins assembly bypoll from Andipatti.

February 2003: Three public prosecutors resign as senior counsel, several prosecution witnesses turn hostile.

November 2003: Disproportionate assets case transferred to Bengaluru by Supreme Court on petition filed by DMK leader K Anbazhagan on the grounds that fair trial was not possible in Tamil Nadu.

February 2005: Karnataka names BV Acharya as Special Public Prosecutor.

October/November 2011: Jayalalithaa answers 1,399 questions in Special Court.

August 2012: Acharya resigns as Special Public Prosecutor.

February 2013: G Bhavani Singh appointed Special Public Prosecutor.

August 2013: Appointment of Bhavani Singh withdrawn by Karnataka government.

Septmber 2013: Supreme Court dismisses order withdrawing appointment of Bhavani Singh.

March 2014: Bhavani Singh fined for delaying final arguments.

August 2014: Special Court reserves judgement in case for September 20.

September 2014: Special Court convicts Jayalalithaa and three others with jail term of four years. Jayalalithaa fined Rs 100 crore and others Rs 10 crore each.

October 2014: Jayalalithaa gets bail.

December 2014: Supreme Court grants bail to Jayalalithaa.

January 2015: Special Bench formed under Justice CR Kumaraswamy to hear appeal filed by Jayalalithaa and others in Karnataka.

May 2015: Karnataka High Court acquits Jayalalithaa and three others.

June 2015: Karnataka government appeals in Supreme Court against ruling.

January 2016: Karnataka submits arithmetical errors in Karnataka High Court’s judgement.

February 2016: Supreme Court starts hearing the case.

June 2016: Apex court reserves judgement.

December 2016: Jayalalithaa dies.

February 2017: Supreme Court upholds trial court’s order convicting late Jayalalithhaa, Sasikala, Illavarasi and Sudhakarran.