The hill state of Uttarakhand on Wednesday voted in 69 of its 70 seats in its single-phase elections.

Voting in Karnaprayag remains postponed after the tragic death of BSP candidate, Kuldeep Kanvasi who was killed in a road accident. Voting in Karnaprayag will take place on March 9.

This was the fourth assembly polls in the hill state where 75,13,547 voters decided the fate of 628 candidates. The state capital had the maximum number of polling stations (1,725) while Rudraprayag numbered with the least of 312.

1,409 polling stations had been put on the very sensitive list while 1,424 were marked as sensitive.

Heavy security deployment had been made at all polling stations with CRPF being deployed at 1,285 polling stations.

LIVE updates

09:15 pm | 68% voting recorded in Uttarakhand; may touch 70% says EC

05:40 pm | 68% voting in Uttarakhand till 5 pm.

04:10 pm | Maximum voting in the hilly state was reported from Kotdwar (51 per cent) where former Congress leader Harak Singh Rawat, who switched loyalty to the Bharatiya Janata Party last year, is contesting. 

03:40 pm | 53% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Uttarakhand

02:20 pm | Election Commission clarifies on voting percentage in Uttarakhand. 39%recorded till 1 PM.

02:13 pm | 30.12% voting in till 1 pm

12:45 pm | Uttarakhand CM, Harish Rawat casts his vote at booth no 45 in Dharampur.

12:20 pm | 22% voter turnout recorded in Uttarakhand till 11 AM.

11:40 am | Polling underway in Uttarakhand.

11:15 am | Baba Ramdev casts vote at polling booth no.106 in Haridwar.

10:25 am | Congress Indira Hridayesh casts her vote at booth no 17 in Haldwani.

09:42 am | MoS Finance Santosh Gangwar with wife Saubhagya Gangwar casts his vote at polling booth no. 60 in Bareilly.

09:40 am | The highest polling station is in Yamunotri at 9,800 feet above sea level.

09:25 am | 6% polling percentage recorded in the first hour of the Uttarakhand polls.

09:15 am | BJP’s Uttarakhand president Ajay Bhatt casts his vote in Ranikhet.

09:00 am | People queue up to cast their votes at polling booths 54 & 55 in Bajpur. BSP’s Ramavatar, BJP’s Yashpal Arya contesting from this seat.

08:50 am | There are 10,685 polling stations in the state of which 460 are in the hilly snowy regions while 287 are in shadow areas. 

08:45 am | People turning out in good numbers in for Uttarakhand assembly elections.

08:30 am | People queue up to cast their vote in Dehradun, Uttarakhand

07:00 am | 69 of a total of 70 assembly seats to go to polls in Uttarakhand