Saturday, October 1, 2022

56 candidates file candidature for Presidential Polls

- Advertisement -

A total of 56 candidates, including the NDA’s Droupadi Murmu and the opposition’s Yashwant Sinha, have registered nominations for the next presidential election, according to Rajya Sabha Secretariat statistics.

Those who have filed nominations, in addition to Murmu and Sinha, include Limca Book of World Records holder K Padmarajan. He has been the most unsuccessful candidate, having never won any of the 231 elections in which he has run. Ram Kumar Shukla is another contender in the campaign for India’s next President, hoping to demonstrate that a president should have the bare necessities and be forced to work as hard as possible for the sake of the people.

Ashok Kumar Dhingra has worked with a variety of groups that advocate for the welfare of the Army and armed forces, hence he believes he is the best candidate for the role of President of India.

Daya Shankar Agarwal, a former Delhi University professor, is one among the 56 persons who have registered candidacy for the July 18 presidential election.

Suraj Prakash believes that as someone who strives to assist accident victims, he possesses all of the traits required to hold India’s highest constitutional post.

Notably, the contenders have only two days left to make their nominations for the next President of India, as the procedure will conclude on June 29. In the most recent presidential elections, 106 contenders declared their candidacy in 2017.

A certified copy of the electoral roll with the candidate’s name on it is required to file the nomination for the Presidential election.

They would then have to come up with a list of 50 proposers and 50 seconders, as well as pay a Rs 15,000 application fee while filing the nomination. If the nomination fails, the money might be refunded to the candidate once the election is over.

NDA’s Droupadi Murmu had filed her candidature on Friday (June 24), while the opposition’s Yashwant Sinha filed the same on Monday (that is June 27).

Latest news

Related news