Manipur goes to elect its new government in two phases of assembly elections on March 4, 2017, and March 8, 2017, has seen a total of 215 candidates filing nomination papers from 38 constituencies for the first phase of polling.

Scrutiny of nominations will be done on February 16 with the last date of withdrawal of candidature on February 18.

So far 24 candidates have filed nomination papers for the second phase of elections in Manipur slated for March 8.

Manipur has enjoyed a stable government since 2002 with the Indian national Congress (INC) coming in power. The last state assembly elections in 2015 saw Congress winning 42 seats and Okram Ibobi Singh re-elected as the chief minister.

Manipur has witnessed a rough time with the economic blockade by the United Naga Council (UNC) which has virtually paralysed the state for more than three months now.

The central government along with Ibobi government has failed to resolve the standoff.