A day after VK Sasikala surrendered before the court in Bengaluru, AIADMK’s new head Edapadi K Palaniswami on Thursday was invited by Governor C Vidyasagar Rao to take oath as the new Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, the state’s third in the past three months.

Accepting the letter of support from Palaniswami, the Governor told the minister to take oath on Thursday evening, the Raj Bhavan said. He will be sworn-in at 4:30 PM today.

Palaniswami has been given 15 days to prove his majority in the assembly.

Earlier, when the Governor had given an appointment to Edapadi K Palaniswami at 11.30 AM, it was seen as a moral victory for Sasikala, who is now lodged in Bengaluru jail, and the party. The news triggered celebrations at the Golden Bay Resort where the AIADMK MLAs backing Sasikala have been staying for over a week.

Palaniswami’s supporters had claimed on Wednesday night that he had the backing of 124 of the 135 party legislators as opposed to acting Chief Minister O Panneerselvam.

This is a big setback for Panneerselvam, who wanted to withdraw his resignation and remain the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. He was sworn in as the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister after Jayalalithaa’s death but resigned from his position on February 5. He also alleged he was under “pressure to resign”.

As it happened:

02: 46 pm | AIADMK workers and supporters distribute payassam (sweet dish) outside Golden Bay resort, after E Palaniswami was elected as CM of Tamil Nadu

02: 41 pm | Visuals of AIADMK MLAs leaving from Golden Bay Resort in Kovathur, Tamil Nadu.

02: 37 pm | Why has the CM been given 15 days to prove his majority? Governor himself is not confident: TKS Elangovan, DMK MP

02: 26 pm | We will continue with our ‘dharm yudh’ until Amma’s rule is established: Panneerselvam

02: 19 pm | Panneerselvam says the people of Tamil Nadu were angry as a new government was being formed with the support of legislators who he said were held in captivity since a power struggle erupted in the AIADMK.

02: 16 pm | Plea filed in Madras High Court against the swearing-in ceremony of Palaniswami. 

02: 12 pm | AIADMK MLAs leave Golden bay resort for the first time in last 9 days.

01: 45 pm | We will not let the party (AIADMK) go into the hands of few of VK Sasikala’s family members: O Panneerselvam

01: 12 pm | AIADMK is not divided into “factions”. Only Panneerselvam is apart & his question shouldn’t arise because he isn’t party member: M Thambidurai

01: 09 pm | This is people’s victory, we will carry forward Amma’s legacy: AIADMK Senior Leader M Thambidurai

01: 07 pm | Tamil Nadu Minister D Jayakumar confirms swearing in ceremony of AIADMK chief, Edappadi K Palaniswami as CM, will be held later this evening.

01: 05 pm | AIADMK MP V Maitreyan from Panneerselvam’s camp to meet Election Commission officials in Delhi at 2.45 pm

01: 02 pm | A score of VKSasikala’s supporters raise slogans against Panneerselvam outside Golden Bay Resorts in Kovathur, Tamil Nadu.

12: 45 pm | Governor appoints Edappadi K. Palanisamy as CM of Tamil Nadu, asks him to seek vote of confidence in 15 days: Raj Bhavan statement 

12: 30 pm | Swearing-in ceremony at 4:30 pm today

12: 25 pm | Governor Vidyasagar Rao invites Sasikala’s proxy, Palaniswami to form the government.

12: 20 pm | Palaniswami has the support of 124 MLAs.

12: 18 pm | 15 days given before the floor test in the House.

12: 15 pm | The governor has asked Palaniswami to form the government. Swearing in to take place in the evening today: Sources

11: 50 pm | AIADMK power tussle: Far from over, it’s Sasikala proxy Palanisamy vs Panneerselvam in Tamil Nadu now

11: 40 am | TN Minister Jayakumar, KA Sengottaiyan, S P Velumani, T T Dinakaran, K P Anbazhagan also part of Palaniswami delegation who will be meeting the Governor at Raj Bhavan

11: 30 am | E Palaniswami along with the delegates reaches Governor C Vidyasagar Rao’s residence.

11: 25 am | Governor’s C Vidyasagar Rao calls AIADMK head E Palaniswami to meet him at Raj Bhawan at 11.30 am