The Shiv Sena finished on top of a hung BrihanMumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) on Thursday but the BJP said it could take control of India’s richest civic body with the backing of independents.

Shiv Sena activists celebrated earlier in the day as it appeared it was set to take control of the BMC but it finished with just 84 of the 227 seats. The BJP came close with 81 seats.

Any party or combine will need 114 corporators for a simple majority.

Across Maharashtra, however, the Bharatiya Janata Party made major gains in elections held for municipal bodies. The Shiv Sena victory came in Thane.

BJP Mumbai President Ashish Shelar said the party had bagged 81 seats in Mumbai and had the support of four independents and that it was in a position to claim the crucial post of Mayor.

“This is a historic victory for the BJP… We are only three seats less than the Shiv Sena… The credit goes to the development agenda of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis,” he said.


07: 45 PM | Final tally of 227 wards — Shiv Sena wins 84, BJP 82, Congress 31, NCP 9, MNS 7, SP 6, MIM 3, ABS 1, Independent 4.

06: 55 PM | Not only Mumbai mayor, but next Chief Minister will also be from Shivsena: Uddhav Thackeray

06: 20 PM | The first message of these polls is that BJP has become pan-India party which is now fast spreading its roots even in the eastern & southern States: FM Arun Jaitley

06: 00 PM | In election it happens that we lose and win: Devendra Fadnavis on Pankaja Munde’s resignation

05: 46 PM | This huge victory for BJP is on the agenda of transparency: Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis

05: 35 PM |  Devendra Fadnavis to address a press conference

05: 25 PM | Mumbai has proved that they are with Prime Minister Narendra Modi: Piyush Goyal

05: 10 PM | I take responsibility for my defeat in local body polls in Beed, have sent my resignation: Maharashtra Women and Child Welfare Minister Pankaja Munde

05: 00 PM | Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis felicitated by supporters for BJP’s performance in local body polls

04: 50 PM | State overall tally for all municipal corporations till 4 PM: BJP 470, Shiv Sena 215, Congress 99, NCP 108, MNS 16 and others 61

04: 40 PM| Shiv Sena supporters celebrate outside Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray’s residence ‘Matoshree’ in Mumbai 

04: 10 PM | BJP’s Mumbai unit chief Ashish Shelar declares party’s win on 81 seats and claims support of 4 other corporators

04: 05 PM | Pankaja Munde takes responsibility after BJP lost 8 out of 10 seats in Parliament; offers resignation.

04: 00 PM | BJP’s performance in the polls was very good and it shows that the people of Mumbai want development

03: 50 PM | I accept the decision of people of Mumbai. I will keep working for the party: Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam on his resignation 

03: 45 PM | For the first time BJP has got such unprecedented success. I congratulate Maharashtra CM and the BJP workers: Union minister Nitin Gadkari 

03: 30 PM | Shiv Sena wins 84 seats, BJP wins 80, Congress wins 31, MNS wins 7, NCP wins 9, MIM wins 1, others win 5 and ABS wins 1

02: 22 PM | Mumbai Congress President Sanjay Nirupam, has resigned after the party’s poor performance in BMC election. Congress suffered a backlash and was at a distant third in the election to the BMC. Shiv Sena is most likely to control BMC while BJP is the biggest gainer, already leading in 73 seats.

02: 02 PM | Halfway figure still out of reach for the Shiv Sena. Currently ahead in 92 seats. The magical halfway mark in 115.

01: 48 PM | Mumbai Congress chief Sanjay Nirupam resigns from party post, says takes full responsibility for the defeat in BMC polls.

01: 15 PM |A per the results so far, Shiv Sena is leading in 93 seats while BJP leads in 56 seats. A big blow to Congress and MNS which are virtually decimated. 

Shiv Sena leading in BMC and Thane, BJP takes Nashik and Nagpur

12: 42 PM | Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM wins 5 seats in Solapur Municipal Corporation.


12: 35 PM | Shiv Sena leading in 85 wards, BJP in 52 wards, Congress in 16 wards, MNS in 9 wards, NCP in 6 wards and others in 5.

12: 33 PM | Shiv Sena leads in Mumbai with 80 seats.

12: 30 PM | MNS washed out, BJP leading in Nashik and Nagpur.


12: 01 PM | Shiv Sena leads in 80, JP in 45

11: 45 AM | Counting of the ballot is taken simultaneously along in nine other major civic bodies, 26 zilla parishads and 283 panchayat samitis across Maharashtra.

11: 05 AM | Congress losing out and leads in only six wards. Nationalist Congress Party (2), Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (3).

11: 19 AM | Sena has the early lead in 30 wards while the BJP was leading is 20 wards.

11: 05 PM | Shiv Sena emerging strongly in 6 seats so far.

11: 00 AM | Counting of votes for 227-seat BrihanMumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), underway.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App