Dharam Singh Saini, who defeated Congress leader Imran Masood at Nakur, was sworn in on Sunday as a minister of state in the new BJP government of Uttar Pradesh.

Saini defeated Masood by over 4,000 votes, who had threatened to “chop (Prime Minister Narendra) Modi into pieces” during the 2014 Lok Sabha election campaign. 

On Sunday, Uttar Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) firebrand Yogi Adityanath became the new Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, Union transport minister Nitin Gadkari, Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at Lucknow’s Smriti Upvan.

BJP on Saturday had announced Yogi Adityanath as their chief minister designate for UP.

The BJP, who had been keeping shush on the list of the ministers to be included in UP’s cabinet, on Sunday gave out a list of total 49 ministers who will be sworn in along with the trio.