National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday finally won the race to Raisina Hill after he defeated United Progressive Alliance (UPA)’s Meira Kumar to become the 14th President of India.

Ram Nath Kovind secured a total of 65.65% of vote share while UPA candidate Meira Kumar got 34.35%.

Winning the Presidential election against UPA’s candidate with a thumping majority, Kovind in his first address said that this was an emotional moment for him. He also thanked and congratulated Meira Kumar.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had already expressed his confidence in Kovind by congratulating him a day before the elections were held.

Current President of India, Pranab Mukhejree’s term expires on July 25. As per sources, he will be given a farewell on July 24, thanking him for his efforts.

Here are the live updates:

2:45 pm |  #PresidentialPoll2017: #RamNathKovind leading with 1389/479585, #MeiraKumar 576/204594, 37 invalid after counting for Parliament & 12 states

2:30 | Parliament: Total votes polled in favor of #RamNathKovind is 522 in value of 3,69,576; 225 for #MeiraKumar in value of 1,59,300; invalid 21

— ANI (@ANI_news) July 20, 2017

2:10 pm | I am not upset, why should I be upset? I am a fighter: Meira kumar

1: 49 pm | NDA’s Ram Nath Kovind leads presidential polls with 60,683 votes

1:09 pm | People at village of NDA’s presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind celebrate and offer prayers in anticipation of his win

1:00 pm | Counting of votes underway in Parliament.

11:25 am | Great belief in ideology is what I fought for. Also, I believe in inner voice of conscience lets see how much it prevails, says Meira Kumar

11 am | Counting of votes for Presidential Poll2017 begins in Parliament.


Here is the latest round-up from the story

The counting of votes will commence from 11 am, with ballot boxes — collected across the India — being locked in the House. The result is expected to be out at 5 pm.

The counting will be done under 8 rounds and 4 separate tables will be used. As per Election Commission (EC) Returning Officer and the Lok Sabha secretary general Anoop Mishra, will be supervising the counting process.

Commenting on the voter turnout in the polls, Anoop Mishra said that the polling saw almost 99% voting, the highest ever.

NDA’s nominee, Ram Nath Kovind, 71, is a farmers’ son is also being seen a masterstroke, as BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) tries to gain the support of backward caste and minorities with Kovind. The former Bihar Governor has served two terms as a member of the Rajya Sabha.

If Kovind wins, he will be the second Dalit President of India after KR Narayanan.

The Presidential poll was turned into a battle of ‘Dalit Vs Dalit’ after a 17-member bloc of opposition parties had announced Meira Kumar as their nominee for President.

A major jolt was faced by the Opposition after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) broke ranks with Opposition and supported Ram Nath Kovind.