In a big political development, Tamil Nadu speaker P Dhanapal on Monday disqualified 18 All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MLAs who were supporting party’s faction led by TTV Dinakaran. The MLAs were disqualified under 1986 Tamil Nadu Assembly Members party defection law.

The AIADMK MLAs disqualified by TN Speaker include Thanga Tamilselvan, Senthil Balaji, P Vetrivel and K Mariappan. 

Speaking on this development, Dinakaran said, “We will approach court against the disqualification. All 18 MLAs will vote during confidence motion.”

TTV Dinakaran, who was ousted as deputy General Secretary in party’s General Council meeting, called by chief minister E Palaniswami and deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam. Jayalalithaa’s niece VK Sasikala was also removed as party’s interim General Secretary. 

Following his ouster, Dinakaran had challenged Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for a floor test and also approached concerned leaders for the same, as he was having the support of 18 MLAs. 

However, the Madras High Court on September 14 had put an interim stay for conducting the floor test in the Tamil Nadu Assembly till September 20.