The Madras High Court on Tuesday allowed the plea of 18 AIADMK’s disqualified MLAs for urgent hearing on Wednesday. The Tamil Nadu speaker on Monday had disqualified 18 AIADMK MLAs who were supporting the TTV Dinakaran’s faction of the party.

18 disqualified MLAs had filed a plea challenging their disqualification by TN Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal.

The MLAs were disqualified under 1986 Tamil Nadu Assembly Members party defection law. 

Hitting out at the TN Speaker, DMK’s working president MK Stalin was consulting legal experts in this case of how to further raise the issue and to decide party’s stand on it. 

Speaking on this development, Dinakaran said, “We will approach court against the disqualification. All 18 MLAs will vote during confidence motion.”

TTV Dinakaran was ousted as deputy General Secretary in party’s General Council meeting, called by chief minister E Palaniswami and deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam. Jayalalithaa’s niece VK Sasikala was also removed as party’s interim General Secretary.