More than 25 corridors in New Delhi will be declared a “no-tolerance zones” for parking and encroachment. This move will be made effective from September 25.

“Joint drives shall be conducted by the Delhi Traffic Police and MCDs for removal of encroachment and obstructive parking under the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act (DMC), 1957 and Motor Vehicle Act 1988,” Garima Bhatnagar, Joint Commissioner of Police (Traffic) told PTI.

The “no-tolerance zones” include areas like Aurobindo Chowk-Andheria More, Chirag Delhi CrossingSavitri Flyover, MB Road Cut-IGNOU Chowk, 11 Murti-Dhaula Kuan, ITO Chungi-Karkari, MB Road, MG Road, GT Karnal Road, Kamal Ataturk Marg, Sardar Patel Marg and Mathura Road.

Hotels, restaurants and business owners in these areas have been advised not to park their vehicles in these 25 listed areas.

Delhi Traffic police will keep a close eye on the defaulters and they will be fined heavily.