In a big announcement made on Saturday by President Ram Nath Kovind at least 5 states were given new governors at their helm. Among the five governors, Ganga Prasad was assigned the control of Meghalaya. He will take over the charge from current governor of the state, Banwarilal Purohit, who was delegated the governorship of Tamil Nadu. According to the press release issued by Rashtrapati Bhavan, the newly appointed governors will take over their positions when the incumbents in charge will assume their new offices.

Who is Ganga Prasad?

Ganga Prasad was born on July 8, 1937 in the capital city of Patna, Bihar. He holds a B Com degree and is a senior political leader who has had life-long affiliations with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). In the year 1994, he was elected as a Member of Legislative Council (MLC), a position he held till 2012.

As his political career progressed, he grew in prominence as well. When NDA came to power in Bihar, Ganga Prasad held the crucial position as the leader of Bihar Legislative Council. During his tenure as an MLC, he led the Opposition from front for 5 years in the state assembly. He has also been the General Secretary of BJP in Bihar.

When Amit Shah took over as the president of BJP, he included Prasad in the all new national executive of BJP. On Ganga Prasad’s appointment as Meghalaya’s governor, Chief Minister of Bihar Nitish Kumar expressed his delight on Prasad’s new venture. Bihar CM took to his Twitter account and congratulated Prasad.

Other appointments that were announced were Brigadier (Dr) BD Mishra (Retd) as the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, Satya Pal Malik as the Governor of Bihar, Banwarilal Purohit as the Governor of Tamil Nadu and Prof Jagdish Mukhi as the Governor of Assam.