The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is all set to get the post of deputy chief minister in the newly elected Nagaland government. The Election Campaign chairman M Chuba, chief ministerial candidate for Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) Neiphiu Rio and convener of Northeast Democratic Alliance (NEDA) Himanta Biswa Sarma have concurred that BJP will receive the post of deputy CM soon. BJP has named Y Patton for the post of deputy CM in the state of Nagaland.

BJP candidate Y Patton is all set to hold the position of deputy CM based on the election results. On Monday, 12 BJP candidates were elected in the existence of central BJP spectators JP Nadda, national BJP general secretary Arun Singh, Union minister of health Himanta Biwa sarma, Northeast general secretary Ajay Jamwal. Y Patton’s name was suggested by Paiwang Konyak and Pangyu Phom.

ALSO READ: Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao calls for 3rd front against BJP and Congress; Mamata, Owaisi stand in support

BJP Election Campaign chairman M Chuba proclaimed that “Nagaland’s Lok Sabha seat and Rajya Sabha seat will be divided between NDPP and BJP. As for the posts of chairman in various public sector undertakings, NDPP will get 50% share, and BJP will be having 40% of share and 10% will be given to neutral parties.

ALSO READ: BSP-SP alliance rumours false; party members to vote to defeat BJP: Mayawati on UP bypolls

The BJP central observer and Patton, along with other BJP MLAs are going to meet the governor at Raj Bhavan in Kohima on Tuesday morning with a required number of support letters in favour of government formation by NDPP-BJP under the leadership of Neiphiu Rio under the banner of People Democratic Alliance (PDA).

ALSO READ: People are fed up with BJP and Congress: Asaduddin Owaisi backs Telangana CM

The Naga People’s Front (NPF)ruled Nagaland were set up for polls on February 27 to elect members for the 60- seat Assembly. The election was held in 59 constituencies though, a three-time chief minister of Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio, of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) was elected unopposed. The BJP which has partnered in Nagaland with Neiphiu Rio’s National Democratic Progressive Party has won the total of 29 seats. The Naga People’s Front of TR Zeliang and its allies also got 29 seats.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App