All transfer orders issued by former Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) chief Alok Verma were reversed today by interim Director M Nageshwar Rao. Ex-CBI chief Alok Verma had earlier on Thursday ordered the transfer of 5 CBI officers including the Joint Director Murugesan, Additional Director AK Sharma, Joint Director Ajay Bhatnagar, DIG MK Sinha, DIG Tarun Gauba. Former CBI Director Alok Verma had passed these orders after he was re-appointed as the CBI boss by the Supreme Court last week.

Alok Verma had issued transfer orders on Thursday evening minutes before PM Modi select panel meeting to decide whether Alok Verma would have continued as the CBI Director or not. The meeting was attended by senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, CVC, Justice Sikri. It was decided in the select panel meeting chaired by PM Modi that Alok Verma will not continue as CBI Director since there were corruption charges against him.

After Alok Verma was removed as CBI Director, he was offered to take responsibilities as DG for Fire Services. However, he refused to take the position and said that natural justice was scuttled and the entire process was turned upside down in ensuring that the undersigned is removed from the post of the Director.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App