Why the BJP lost Jharkhand: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), that single-handedly defeated the Congress-RJD-JMM alliance in the 2014 Jharkhand Assembly Elections, lost the 2019 Jharkhand Assembly Elections. The Hemat Soren-led JMM-Congress-RJD alliance bagged 47 seats while the ruling BJP bagged 25 seats while the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) emerged victorious on three seats.

No doubt, the BJP’s vote share has increased and it has emerged as the single largest party in the tribal state. Despite marathon campaigns by party’s star campaigner Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah, the party is a neck-in-neck fight with the alliance.

Taking advantage of the opportunity, the Karnataka unit of the Congress party on Monday cocked a snook at the BJP’s decision to implement the Citizenship (Amendment) Act in the country. Congress said Jharkhand Assembly Election Results 2019 has clearly shown that the voters of the state have rejected the BJP and the electorate has sent a clear message that they cannot bear the BJP govt anymore. Taking to Twitter, the party said the people of India are also waiting to oust BJP and their divisive policies.

On the other hand, state Chief Minister Raghubar Das is optimistic that the BJP will form the next government in Jharkhand.

Here are 10 things to know why the BJP is trailing in the tribal-state:

Why BJP is trailing in Jharkhand: 10 things to know

– Land acquired by the Jharkhand government for Adani’s 1,600-megawatt power plant reportedly created public resentment. The powerplant will reportedly sell electricity to Bangladesh.

– Reports said Godda voters were upsent against the Raghubar Das govt over the dilution of Acquisition Act in the state.

– Poor governance is another factor. Despite the full focus on digital marketing, the BJP didn’t say a word on it in Jharkhand the election campaigns.

– For the first time, after a gap of 19 years, assembly elections were held in Jharkhand in a peaceful manner. But the BJP failed to highlight this achievement against the Maoists.

– Several leaders were not happy with CM Raghubar Das, a non-tribal, in the tribal state. Resentment brewed over allocations of party tickets too.

– Shibu Soren, who is called Guruji or Dishom Guru by his followers in Jharkhand, is still seen as a charismatic leader among the Santhals.

– Santhal factor influenced elections in Jharkhand also. The Santhals socially and politically dominate Santhal Pargana.

– The JMM once again highlighted the issue of age-old exploitation of tribal people by the money-lenders and usury.

– Jharkhand was created in 2000 during the prime ministership of Atal Bihari Vajpayee. The creation of Jharkhand did not bring much political success for the BJP in Jharkhand. The saffron party didn’t highlight how it helped create Jharkhand.

– Low voter turnout went against the BJP. Jharkhand witnessed 65.17 % voter turn out which is 1.36% less than the previous (2014) elections.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App