Karnataka by-election results 2018 live: The counting of votes for the Karnataka by-elections 2018 commenced today at the 8 am for the five constituencies. The polling was held on Saturday and today results for 3 Lok Sabha and 2 assembly seats will be declared. According to the reports, the state Elections Commission has deployed 1,248 counting officers in 5 counting centres. The results will be announced 3 Lok Sabha seats— Ballari, Shivamogga and Mandya and 2 assembly seats— Ramanagara and Jamkhandi will come out.

Describing the security arrangements, a state police senior officer said, “Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure that no untoward incident takes place during the counting of votes. Police personnel have been deployed around the counting centres and strong rooms where the EVMs are placed.”

The election officer will today announce the fate for 31 candidates from all the five constituencies. An estimated 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the by-polls for five constituencies. The contest is mainly between the Congress-JD(S) alliance, who are in power in the state, and BJP.

Around 54,54,275 voters were eligible to cast their vote in about 6,450 polling stations of the five constituencies. Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy’s wife Anita Kumaraswamy is one of the prominent candidates in the fray for the Karnataka By-election 2018. Currently, Congress and Janta Dal Secular (JDS) are in an alliance government in the state headed by Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy.

Live Updates

DK Shivakumar on Karnataka by-election results 2018

On being questioned, if the Karnataka by-election results 2018 will give a message to the whole nation before 2019 election, Karnataka minister DK Shivakumar said that in any democratic result or election process, people's mandate is very important and it's the direction to the people of this country.

"I think as far as southern India is concerned, you can't make Ram Mandir and all those issues a political plank. People are looking at what they're going to get, what benefit they're going to get in the social and economic sector, and transparency," Shivakumar added.

People have rejected BJP, says Dinesh Gundu Rao

People have rejected BJP. It is also a rejection of the Modi government. Karnataka by-election results will send a message to the entire country that the time for change has come, says Dinesh Gundu Rao, as Congress-JD(S) alliance, leads on 4 out of 5 seats in the state.


JDS' Anitha Kumaraswamy wins Ramanagaram assembly seat with a margin of 109137 votes while Congress's AS Nyamagouda wins Jamkhandi assembly seat by a margin of 39480 votes.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live updates

Congress members and workers celebrate outside party office in Bengaluru. Congress-JD(S) alliance is leading on 4 out of 5 seats in Karnataka by-election 2018.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live updates

Indian National Congress's AS Nyamagouda leads by 39,480 votes in Jamkhandi,JDS's Anitha Kumaraswamy leads by 10,5294 votes in Ramanagaram,BJP's BY Raghavendra leads by 47,388 votes in Shimoga,INC's VS Ugrappa leads by 21,4826 votes in Bellary and JDS LR Shivaramegowda leads by 23,3517 votes in Mandya.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live

As the trends show, Congress-JDS alliance is leading the fray, after which, Congress workers have started celebrating outside the counting station in Bellary.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live

According to the reports, out of 3 Lok Sabha seats, Congress-JDS alliance is leading on 2 seats. INC's AS Nyamagouda leads by 32933 votes in Jamkhandi. JDS's Anitha Kumaraswamy leads by 82928 votes in Ramanagaram.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live

As per the trends of the Karnataka by-polls 2018, Congress' VS Ugrappa is leading the fray against BJP's J Shantha by 128815 votes in Bellary parliamentary seat after counting of votes for Round 8. While BJP's BY Raghavendra is ahead over JDS' S Madhubangarappa by 9665 votes in the 4th round of counting in Shimoga parliamentary seat.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live

The counting of votes for the Karnataka by-elections 2018 is underway. The contest is mainly between JDS-Congress alliance and BJP. The results for the 3 Lok Sabha seats —Ballari, Shivamogga and Mandya and 2 assembly seats— Ramanagara and Jamkhandi by-elections will be declared today.

Karnataka by-election results 2018 live

Counting of votes begins for the 3 LokSabha and 2 assembly seats. Here are outside visuals from the counting centres in Bellary and Shimoga Lok Sabha constituencies. According to the reports, results for 31 candidates fates will be announced today.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App