B S Yediyurappa’s cabinet expansion is scheduled to take place today evening. It is speculated that around 7-8 new ministers will be inducted and it is possible that some might even be dropped from their current position. This will be the third cabinet expansion in Karnataka since the formation of BJP led government in July 2019.

The new ministers will take oath at 4 PM today. According to reports, MTB Nagaraj, R Shankar, Murugesh Nirani, Umesh Katti, Arvind Limbavali, Angara, CP Yogeshwar/Muniratna are to be sworn in. It is conjectured that Excise Minister H. Nagesh might be dropped from the cabinet.

Also Read: ISRO to adopt 100 Atal Tinkering Labs across country to promote STEM education

Also Read: Ahead of 1st phase of vaccine rollout from January 16th, Covid-19 vaccines shipped to several states

Yediyurappa announced that BJP National President J P Nadda and the party General Secretary in-charge of state Arun Singh will be invited for the swearing-in today. Governor Vajubhai Vala will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the new members at 3.50 pm at the Glass House of Raj Bhavan.

The expansion must be a really tough task for the CM to choose from with such a huge lot of aspirants which includes- Munirathna, R Shankar and M T B Nagaraj, who helped the BJP to form government, Umesh Katti, Arvind Limbavali S. Angara, Halappa Achar, Murugesh Nirani among others. In addition, MLAs G.H. Thippareddy, S.A. Ramdas and M.P. Renukachary have expressed their desire to become ministers. Currently there are 7 seats vancant in the 34 berthed cabinet of Karnataka.