Lok Sabha elections 2019: BJP to field all new faces for 11 seats in Chhattisgarh: BJP, on Tuesday said that the party would field new faces in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections in Chhattisgarh. BJP National General Secretary, Anil Jain said that the party would replace all sitting MPs and win all the Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The decision was taken in the meeting of the central election committee at the party headquarters in New Delhi.

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari and other leaders of the party. Chhattisgarh comprises 11 Lok Sabha seats, out of which, BJP holds 10, while Congress represents only one. The decision to replace sitting MPs was taken in the wake of BJP’s defeat in assembly elections in November 2018. Congress got a landslide victory in the elections. In the 90-seat assembly, Congress secured 68 seats while BJP’s tally was reduced to 15 from 49.

The Lok Sabha elections in Chhattisgarh would be held across three phases on April 11, 18 and 23. Earlier, Congress declared candidates for five reserved seats while the party is yet to announce the names for remaining seats. The party has given tickets to three of its sitting MLAs.

Congress has fielded tribal leader and four-time MLA Khelsai Singh from Surguja parliamentary constituency. He has earlier represented Surguja thrice. Singh is the sitting legislator from Premnagar assembly segment.

Laljeet Singh Rathiya, who is representing Dharamjaigarh assembly segment, was fielded from Raigarh parliamentary seat. Chitrakoot MLA Dipak Baij would contest from Bastar parliamentary seat.

The people of Maoist-affected Bastar Lok Sabha seat would cast their ballots in the first phase. The voting in Mahasamund, Kanker and Rajnandgaonw would be conducted in the second phases. The polling in Janjgir-Champa, Raipur, Surguja, Bilaspur, Rajgarh, Korba and Durg constituencies would be held in the third phase.

The BJP is yet to announce the list of candidates for the national elections. It is expected that the party would release names of contestants on Wednesday after its central election committee’s meeting at party headquarters in Delhi.

Former Karnataka chief minister and senior BJP leader, Jagadish Shettar said that discussions were held on all 28 parliamentary seats in the state. He said central election committee was given feedback about the situation in all the seats of Karnataka.

In the last Lok Sabha election, BJP secured 17 seats, Congress won nine and Janata Dal (Secular) got two seats in Karnataka.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App