Lok Sabha Elections 2019 phase 4 voting: Lok Sabha election 2019 is getting intense day by day, phase by phase as all big leaders and parties are trying their best to woo the voters. On Monday, voting for the 4th phase will be held on 72 seats of 9 states. According to the reports, more than 12.79 crore voters will exercise their vote today and lock the fate of 945 candidates across Maharashtra (17), Rajasthan (13), Uttar Pradesh (13), West Bengal (8), Madhya Pradesh (6), Odisha (6), Bihar (5)and Jharkhand (3).

According to the reports, 37.2% voter turnout was recorded till 1 pm, while at 9 AM today it was 10.3%. 

The key contestants for this phase are Union Minister Giriraj Singh, BJP vice president SS Ahluwalia, former Union Minister Salman Khurshid, Kanhaiya Kumar, Urmila Matondkar, Milind Deora and Dimple Yadav. 

Sakshi Maharaj (BJP), Poonam Mahajan (BJP), Priya Dutt (Congress), Babul Supriyo (BJP), Moon Moon Sen (Trinamool Congress), Manvendra Singh (Congress), Dushyant Singh (BJP), Gajendra Singh Shekhawat (BJP) and Jay Panda (BJP) are the other heavyweight contestants in the 4th phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019. 

But the most interesting contest in on Bihar’s Begusarai seat where Kanhaiya Kumar Kumar is making a political debut on the CPI (M) ticket against Congress’ Tanweer Hassan and sitting BJP candidate Giriraj Singh. 

The polling will start from 7 am and will be concluded at 6 pm. While in some sensitive regions of Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand and parts of Madhya Pradesh the last vote will be cast at 4 pm. According to the reports, 1.40 lakh polling stations have been set up by the poll governing the body in all 9 states. To conduct fair and safe elections, on orders of the Election Commission, security has been beefed up at all the polling stations.

In Maharashtra, the Election Commission has set 33,314 polling stations and more than 40,400 security personnel have been deployed to take care of them. Mumbai Police has also issued a statement ahead of Monday’s polling. The statement said that in the metropolis 40,400 security personnel, Force One, Quick Response Teams, Assault Teams and Anti-Terrorism Cell have been deployed in the city.

For Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, polling would be held only in Kulgam district due to security reasons. The seat spreads to four districts comprising Anantnag, Kulgam, Pulwama and Shopian.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App