Bihar Opposition Mahagathbandhan that comprises of Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress, Upendra Kushwaha’s Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP), Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and socialist leader Sharad Yadav’s Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD) is likely to hold its first official meeting today to decide on the seat-sharing formula for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. 

While incumbent, Nitish Kumar has already sealed a deal with BJP, the Opposition with more than 6 parties is yet to reach a consensus. According to reports, the meeting will saw Congress state president Madan Mohan Jha, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) national president Jitan Ram Manjhi, among others. Reports suggest, Upendra Kushwaha, Sharad Yadav and Jitan Ram Manjhi have already met RJD supremo Lalu Yadav at Rachi hospital to discuss seat sharing, today’s meeting will be an official announcement of the same.

Unofficial reports doing the rounds suggest, RJD, which is the largest party in the mahagathbandhan, will be contesting 20 of the 40 Lok Sabha in Bihar seats and leave the rest for the other alliance partners. Interesting would be to see how many seats are allocated to Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP, who recently walked out of the NDA owning to get a reasonable number of seats for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The NDA alliance has already announced its formula, according to which Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JDU and BJP will contest on 17 seats each and leaving six seats for Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App