Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Mamata Banerjee calls opposition parties ahead of presidential polls, meeting on June 15

Mamata Banerjee, the Chief Minister of West Bengal, has written to opposition chief ministers and leaders of opposition parties, inviting them to a meeting on June 15 to discuss the presidential elections and strengthen resistance to “divisive force.”

The meeting will take place on June 15 at the Constitution Club in Delhi. Banerjee has written to 22 politicians, including Arvind Kejriwal, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren, and Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann.

Sonia Gandhi, the Congress’s leader, has also received a letter from her.

Mamata Banerjee has called on all progressive opposition forces to gather and deliberate on the future course of action at the Constitution Club in New Delhi, according to a tweet from the Trinamool Congress.

“The Presidential elections are just around the verge, providing the ideal chance for all progressive parties to reassemble and discuss on the future direction of Indian politics,” Banerjee wrote.

“The election is significant because it allows legislators to vote on who will be the next Head of State and the keeper of our democracy. At a time when our democracy is facing challenges, I believe that a productive coalition of opposition voices is essential; to speak for the underserved and unrepresented groups “she continued.

Banerjee stated that the country’s progressive forces must remain united “and stand up to the dividing factor that is currently afflicting us.”

She claimed that opposition leaders are “deliberately targeted by various central agencies,” that the country’s image is “maligned abroad,” and that “bitter internal dissensions are generated.”

The letter stated, “It is past time for us to intensify our resistance.”

The Indian Election Commission stated on Thursday that the next presidential election will be place on July 18 and the results will be released on July 21.

Latest news

Related news