Soon after Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Wednesday, July 18, accepted a no-confidence motion, which was moved by Telugu Desam Party’s MP Kesineni Srinivas against the Narendra Modi government, the BJP ally, Shiv Sena reportedly said that it will vote in favour of the ruling government and the BJP is quite confident that it will defeat the no-confidence motion. Reacting to the development, Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar asserted that the NDA is united and will vote against the motion.

Though the BJP is at no risk as it has 313 members in the 535-member Lok Sabha, the Opposition expects that its allies Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena, which has 18 members in the Lok Sabha proves to be a disappointment for the ruling dispensation.

ALSO READ: Monsoon Session: No-confidence motion moved by Congress, TDP accepted in Lok Sabha

The BJP and Shiv Sena have been partners since the early 1990s. But the relation between the 2 has been at incessant breakpoint ever since the saffron party emerged as the number of the party in Maharashtra in the 2014 national elections. 

In the past, Shiv Sena had called the BJP  its ”biggest political enemy’  and called it an arrogant and the NDA that it leads ‘almost dead’.

‘Discussions and debate over the no-confidence motion against the government will take place on Friday in the Lower House and on Monday in Rajya Sabha.

A no-confidence motion can be moved by any member of the House. It can only be moved in Lok Sabha. If members of the House feel that the ruling government does not have a majority then it can move a no-confidence motion.

A minimum of 50 members of the House have to accept the motion and then only Speaker will declare the date for discussion for the motion. 

ALSO READ: Rahul Gandhi constitutes new Congress Working Committee, drops Digvijaya Singh, Sushil Kumar Shinde, others


For all the latest National News, download NewsX App