Tuesday, August 9, 2022

PM Modi enters 20th year as democratically elected head, Amit Shah and others extend congratulatory wishes

Crossing another milestone, Prime Minister Narendra Modi entered 20th consecutive year as the democratically elected head of a government, without a break, on Wednesday. The journey of the Prime Minister in public office began on October 7, 2001, as the Chief Minister of Gujarat. This was followed by three terms as the Gujarat CM in 2002, 2007 and 2012, respectively.

During the third term as the Gujarat CM, however, Modi fought the 2014 general elections. His popularity, which was going through the roof both inside and outside the State, led to the BJP declaring him as its prime ministerial candidate in 2013. He had been projected as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate for the PM post. Defeating the Congress-led government which held sway at the Centre, CM Modi left Gujarat to take over the reins at the Centre. Since then, he has solidified his position with the NDA coalition retaining its position in the Centre with an even bigger margin in the 2019 general elections.

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister’s journey to the head of an elected government started in 2001 in the backdrop of relief work for the devastating Bhuj earthquake. The following years saw him rolling out several pro-people policies and actively reaching out to the people directly, leading to the formation of his image as a leader of the masses. Further, upon becoming the Prime Minister, he continued the pro-people approach, which was further reflected in the various schemes such as Jan Dhan Yojana, the Mudra Yojana, the Jan Suraksha Yojana, the Ujjwala Yojana, the Saubhagya Yojana, Ayushman Bharat, the Pradhan Mantri Aawaas Yojana, the PM-Kisan Yojana, among others.

Also Read: Would’ve thrown out China in less than 15 minutes if Congress was in power: Rahul Gandhi

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the latter entered 20th consecutive year as the democratically elected head of a government. PM Modi had taken over as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on October 7, 2001. “October 7 is a very important day in the country’s history. In 2001, on this very same day, PM Narendra Modi had taken oath as the Gujarat Chief Minister. 20th year of Namo,” Shah’s tweet read (roughly translated from Hindi).

Moreover, during the COVID-19 pandemic phase too the pro-poor schemes continued, under which arrangements were made to provide foodgrains, jobs, financial help to migrant workers, farmers, among others during the lockdown phase. As PM Modi enters the 20th consecutive year in public office, the mantra of ‘development for all’ continues to steer India ahead towards the goal of making an “Atmanirbhar Bharat”.

Also Read: Bihar elections 2020: BJP’s Usha Vidyarthi joins LJP in Chirag Paswan’s presence

Latest news

Related news