Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha, the united opposition candidate for the presidential election will file his candidacy in Parliament on June 27 with five sets of nominations.

N K Premchandran, RSP Lok Sabha MP from Kerala, said, “We have already agreed to submit the nomination on June 27 at 11:30 a.m. He will file the nomination, which will be backed by all opposition parties.”

“It will be signed by MPs and MLAs from various political parties around the country,” he continued.

He also stated that they had opted to launch a “decent campaign.” The Campaign Committee has been constituted, with Jairam Ramesh directing and Sharad Pawar serving as the committee’s patron.

Premchandran further went on to say that “We are definitely putting up a very strong struggle and rivalry for the position of President, the highest office in the country.”

Meanwhile, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has named Droupadi Murmu, a tribal leader and former governor, as its presidential candidate.

NDA Presidential candidate Murmu said, “I’m startled; I couldn’t believe it. I’m grateful yet don’t want to say much. Whatever powers are granted to the President by the Constitution, I will exercise them.”

On Yashwant Sinha being picked as the Joint Opposition’s consensus candidate, NDA’s Presidential candidate said “There are contenders. Our job is to go out and talk to individuals, to reach out to members of the Electoral College and solicit their participation. I’ll seek support from all parties and states. “