Shortly after Rajasthan Congress leader Sachin Pilot’s encouraging words on Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi’s appointment as the party president, it seems like the move is likely to materialize sooner or later. Congress head Sonia Gandhi confirmed today that his son Rahul Gandhi will be the next party chief and can be promoted to the top post after Diwali, 2017.

Sonia Gandhi spoke to a national news channel at former president Pranab Mukherjee’s book launch event in New Delhi and gave a nod to the development which is being plotted for a while now. The man in the spotlight, Rahul Gandhi was also present at the event but he refused to comment on the development. The party which has been struggling to formulate a strong opposition against the centre needs a dynamic face in charge, one who can turn fortunes in their favour.

Rahul Gandhi’s political sphere so far has not been an impressive one and the Congress Vice president has failed to live up to the expectations but the senior party leaders and the prominent Congress politicians have always come out in favour of his election at the top post.

Among many who have supported Rahul’s promotion are senior leader Mani Shankar Aiyar and young leader Sachin Pilot. “Only two people can be Congress president, mother or son,” said senior leader Mani Shankar Aiyar earlier this week whereas Pilot had said he sees Rahul as a future leader and it’s time for him ”to lead from the front.” The Uttar Pradesh Congress on Thursday had passed a resolution to the head office demanding Rahul Gandhi’s appointment as the Congress President.

Rahul Gandhi who currently serves as the Vice President of Congress party is an MP from his local constituency Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. He announced himself in Indian politics in 2007 after being appointed as the General Secretary of the Indian Youth Congress and the Congress student wing NSUI. He led the Congress party’s election campaign in 2014, the year which saw the party’s worst ever performance in elections when they managed to win only 44 seats compared to 206 seats won previously in the 2009 general elections.