After Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s request to halt the Delhi Metro fare hike was snubbed by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC), the new increased metro fare will be coming into effect from today. After being opposed by Delhi CM Kejriwal, the DMRC Board members had discussed the proposal by the Delhi government but decided to go with the recommendations of  Fare Fixation Committee (FCC), which were to be brought into effect from October 10. Earlier, taking the cognizance of the Delhi CM’s request, the Central Government had said that it has no jurisdiction to hold the proposed Metro fare hike unless, the Aam Aadmi party (AAP) agrees to pay Rs 3,000 crore annually to Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC).

The October Metro fare hike comes as the second metro fare hike in this year, 2017. The increased metro fares were to be imposed in two phases — one in May and the other one in October. As per the new fare hike, commuters will now have to have to pay Rs 5- Rs 10 for every extra kilometres traveled. However, the minimum fare of Rs 10 for the distance of 0-2 km will remain same. The maximum fare has now been increased to Rs 60 as compared to Rs 50, earlier. Apart from the commuters travelling using tokens, smart card users will continue to get 10% discount. The DMRC fares during the peak hours are also to remain less.

Previously, reacting to Arvind Kejriwal’s request, Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister of State (MoS) for Housing and Urban Affairs, informed chief minister Arvind Kejriwal that the Metro Act does not allow the Central government to have any authority over holding the fare hike. The DMRC and the Delhi government have been locking horns since the second Metro fare hike from October 10 was proposed. The fare hike has come in as a recommendation from the Fare Fixation Committee (FFC).

However, Hardeep Singh Puri did not completely ruled out the halt in the fare hike, saying that a new FFC could be set up, but only if Delhi government agrees to pay Rs 3,000 annually. The DMRC was set-up in 1995 with equal equity from the Central government.