The first phase of the local body elections in the state of Uttar Pradesh began on Wednesday at 7:30 AM. The voting for the first phase of local body election in 24 districts of Uttar Pradesh was held till 5 PM. In the first phase of the UP civic polls, five municipal corporations inclusive of Ayodhya and Gorakhpur along with 71 nagar palika parishads and 154 nagar panchayats voted. While the campaigning for the civic body elections came to a conclusion on Tuesday evening, the results of the polls will be declared next week on December 1. 

As per reports, sufficient security arrangements have been made by the State Election Commission to conduct the first phase of the polls smoothly. The districts which are in the first phase of civic polls are Shamli, Meerut, Hapur, Bijnore, Badaun, Hathras, Kasganj, Agra, Kanpur, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Chitrakoot, Kaushambi, Pratapgarh, Unnao, Hardoi, Amethi, Faizabad, Gonda, Basti, Gorakhpur, Azamgarh, Ghazipur and Sonebhadra.  After offering prayers at Gorakhnath temple earlier today, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath arrived at a polling station to cast his vote in Gorakhpur.

Uttar Pradesh civic polls as it happened:

02:33 PM — “The expectation level is high and the contest is fierce, as all major political parties have put up formidable candidates for the post of Agra mayor,” insurance agent Sudheir Gupta was quoted as saying at the Vijay Nagar colony polling booth earlier.  

02:17 PM — Kanpur recorded 31% polling while 23% of votes have been cast in Gorakhpur. Around 4,200 policemen, 1,000 home guards, eight companies of Provincial Armed Constabulary (PAC) and two Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) companies have been deployed for poll duty, a district official told a news agency.  

01:48 PM — Sensational revelations have emerged after the survey by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) asserted that candidates in polls are giving gifts to voters like utensils, football and other kitchen appliances. Meanwhile, in Bijnor 17% voting has been recorded so far.   

01:35 PM — According to a report filed by FirstPost, voters who turned out to cast their vote in Agra (Ward 29) have alleged BSP mayoral candidate Ram Shankar Katheria of embracing ‘thuggish behaviour’. At least twenty-four districts of Uttar Pradesh with 1.09 crore voters would elect 4,325 candidates for various positions in the local bodies elections. The mayors of five corporations including Agra would also be elected.  

12:29 PM — 16% voting has been recorded in Meerut. 

12:00 PM — After the news of technical glitch in EVMs in Kanpur, there are reports coming of a possible fracas created by voters in Meerut as they have alleged that votes are cast only in the favour of BJP at Ward No 81 of Summer Garden.  

9:50 AM — Polling resumes in Kanpur’s Mani Ram Bagia Ward number 104’s three booths were a technical glitch in EVMs was reported earlier. 

8: 05 AM — Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath casts his vote at a polling station in Gorakhpur, in the first phase of local body election. There are 56 contenders in the first phase of the civic elections for five mayor seats. 

7: 55 AM — Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath arrives at a polling station in Gorakhpur to cast his vote in the first phase of local body election. Adityanath also offered prayers at Gorakhnath temple in earlier today. 

7: 35AM — Voting has been underway for the first phase of the civic body election in Uttar Pradesh.  The voting to be held in 3 phases and the counting of all votes for all three phases would be held on 1 December.

7: 00 AM — Voting to begin at 7:30 AM for the first phase of local body election in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The following are some visuals from a polling station in Gorakhpur, where CM Yogi Yogi Adityanath will be casting his state. 



For all the latest National News, download NewsX App