West Bengal Assembly bypoll 2019 results: The Trinamool Congress on Thursday won the Kaliaganj Assembly seat in West Bengal, defeating Congress-CPI(M) and BJP candidates. TMC’s Tapan Deb Sinha won by over 2300 votes against his nearest rival BJP Kamal Chandra Sarkar. The by-poll was held for the seat earlier claimed by Congress leader Parmathanath Roy.

In Karimpur, Bimalendu Roy was leading against his BJP rival Jay Prakash Mujumdar. In Kharagpur, Pradeep Sarkar was ahead of Prem Chandra Jah and Chittaranjan Mandal. As many as three seats in West Bengal went to polls on Monday, November 25.

TMC victory’s came at a time when the BJP, Congress and the CPI(M) has been accusing Mamata-led party of crushing the dissent. Even on the by-poll day, BJP’s Karimpur contestant was assaulted allegedly by the TMC supporters. Majumdar went on to accuse the TMC of ending democracy in West Bengal. He also accused it of rigging the elections. However, the TMC rejected the allegations, saying the BJP was aware they would not win the elections and staged a drama to gain attention.

As many as 800 polling stations were set-up across Kaliaganj, Karimpur and Kharagpur to facilitate the voters. The TMC-ruled state witnessed 75.34 per cent with more than seven lakh voters turning up to cast their ballots. The win in Kaliaganj and lead in Kharagpur and Karimpur is seen as crucial for the West Bengal chief minister’s party ahead of the 2021 Assembly polls.

The Karimpur Assembly constituency is seen as a stronghold of the CPI(M). On the other side, Congress had won Kharagpur for seven times. The Congress and the CPI(M) fought elections together in the three seats The grand-old party was given two seats — Kaliaganj and Kharagpur — and the Left Front got Karimpur seat. Meanwhile, West Bengal will witness Assembly polls in 2021 with the BJP trying to replace the Mamata-led government.

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App