West Bengal, Uttarakhand by-election Results 2019 highlights: Final results of counting of votes for the recently concluded by-elections in West Bengal and Uttarakhand have been released. While the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress has bagged Kharagpur Sadar, Karimpur, and Kaliaganj seats, the lone Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate has emerged victorious from Pithoragarh seat in Uttarakhand. Elections were held in the Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur assembly seat as the MLAs in both seats elected as MPs in LS Polls held in May. The Kaliaganj assembly seat of North Dinajpur district fell vacant after the death of its sitting MLA Parmathanath Roy. The by-elections in the West Bengal are being seen as a crucial test for both TMC and BJP ahead of the 2021 assembly election in the state.

On the other side, elections were held in Pithoragarh Assembly on Monday. By-election in Pithoragarh were necessitated following the death of three-time MLA and former minister Prakash Pant. BJP’s Chandra Pant contested from the seat against Congress’s Anju Lunthi.

Earlier in the day, Trinamool Congress was leading in two seats in West Bengal while the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) was in lead in Kaliaganj seat. Similarly, BJP candidate Chandra Pant was leading by a small margin against his competitor Congress’s Anju Lunthi.

Here are the highlights:

For all the latest National News, download NewsX App