Sunday, August 14, 2022

Congress wipeout, NDA wins four northeast Rajya Sabha seats

For the first time in parliamentary history, the BJP and one of its allies won all four Rajya Sabha seats from the northeast that were up for grabs on Thursday, leaving the Congress with no representation from the region in the Upper House.

The ruling NDA holds 79 seats in the assembly, with 63 for the BJP, nine for the AGP, and seven for the UPPL. The opposition parties have a total of 47 seats in the House, including 27 for the Congress, 15 for the AIUDF, three for the BPF, and one for the CPI (M), as well as an independent candidate.

Margherita received 46 votes, Narzary 44, and Bora 35, ensuring Margherita’s triumph. The votes of all 126 MLAs in the Assam assembly were counted, and one vote was deemed to be illegitimate.

Meanwhile, S Phangnon Konyak of BJP became the first woman to be elected to Rajya Sabha from Nagaland.

BJP Party President in Tripura, Manik Saha defeated CPM candidate Bhanu Lal Saha.

On this huge win, Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted, “Assam has reposed its faith in PM Sri Narendra Modi ji by electing two NDA candidates to the Rajya Sabha by huge margins – BJP’s Sri Pabitra Margherita (won by 11 votes) & UPPL’s Sri Rwngwra Narzary (won by 9 votes). My compliments to the winners Amit Shah JP Nadda and BL Santhosh.”

Latest news

Related news