President Murmu to Honor 75 Teachers from Various Educational Institutions on Teachers’ Day

5 September, 2023 | Akshara Tyagi

Droupadi Murmu Top News

President Droupadi Murmu will confer the National Teachers’ Award on 75 educators from across the nation today, marking National Teachers’ Day

President Murmu will confer the National Teachers’ Award on 75 educators from across the nation today, marking National Teachers’ Day. The award ceremony is scheduled at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi, according to the Ministry of Education. Each recipient will receive a certificate of merit, a cash prize of Rs 50,000, and a silver medal, along with the opportunity to engage with the Prime Minister.

The Department of School Education and Literacy, under the Ministry of Education, annually organizes a national-level event on Teachers’ Day to recognize exceptional educators in the country through a rigorous selection process.

This year, the National Teachers’ Award has expanded to encompass teachers from the Department of Higher Education and the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship. The honorees include 50 school teachers, 13 educators from higher education, and 12 teachers from the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

National Teachers’ Day, celebrated on September 5, commemorates Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan’s birth anniversary, and the National Teachers’ Award acknowledges the remarkable contributions of educators who have not only enhanced education quality but also enriched their students’ lives. Nominations were invited online to encourage broader participation and recognize innovative teaching, research, community outreach, and originality in work.

Three independent national juries, consisting of eminent individuals, were appointed by the ministry for teacher selection. Notably, Prime Minister Narendra Modi engaged with the 2023 National Teachers’ Award winners in the national capital on Monday.

“Meet our nation’s exemplary educators who have been honored with the National Teachers’ Awards. Their dedication to shaping young minds and their unwavering commitment to excellence in education are very inspiring. In their classrooms, they are scripting a brighter future for India’s youth,” PM Modi posted on ‘X’ after meeting the winners.

The Union Minister for Education, Skill Development, and Entrepreneurship, Dharmendra Pradhan, along with the Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology, Skill Development, and Entrepreneurship, Rajeev Chandrasekhar, and other dignitaries, were also in attendance at the event.

Also Read: Voting Commences in Six States for 7 Assembly Seats in Bypolls

Catch all the Latest Business NewsBreaking News Events, and Latest News Updates on NewsX